• Weather Alerts
    Minutes & Agendas
    Reverse 911 Sign Up
    Budgets & Tax Records
    100th Anniversary

Library Board of Trustees
Mission Statement:

The mission of the NEW MILFORD PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES is to provide advice and consent to the library director as needed or requested.  Further to be sure that the library is properly funded and that the library is operated according to the rules and regulations and laws as set forth by the New Jersey State Library and the State of New Jersey.
The mission of the NEW MILFORD PUBLIC LIBRARY is to provide library resources and services to meet the evolving educational, recreational and informational needs of the community.  The Library supplies free, open and equal access to ideas and information to all members of the community.
Adopted by the NEW MILFORD PUBLIC LIBRARY Board of Trustees – September 2004

About the Board:

Once a free public library is established by a municipality, a board of trustees is formed consisting of the mayor or his/her alternate; the superintendent of schools or his/her alternate; and at least five citizens appointed by the mayor.  The appointments shall be for terms of one, two, three, four and five years, respectively. N.J.S.A.40:54-9
Upon the expiration of the term of office of any trustee the mayor shall appoint a citizen for a term of five years in the same manner as the original appointment was made. Vacancies occurring in the board of trustees shall be filled for the unexpired term only, in the same manner as the original appointments are made. N.J.S.A.40:54-10
The board shall hold in trust and manage all property of the library.  The board hires the library director.   The board makes proper rules and regulations for the government of the library, and generally does all things necessary and proper for the establishment and maintenance of the free public library in the municipality. N.J.S.A.40:54-12
Further information about New Jersey State Library Laws can be found at http://www.njstatelib.org/LDB/Library_Law.

Library Board of Trustees Members:

Jeff Forster  12/31/27
Vacant  12/31/23
Barbara Shupak  12/31/24
Marge Sellen  12/31/25
Armeny Urena  12/31/26
Joseph Steele 12/31/26
Eileen Mulroy 12/31/25
Councilwoman Hedy Grant, Mayor's Rep.  12/31/23
Caridad Chrisomalis - BOE Rep.  12/31/23

Meeting Dates:

All meetings are held in the Director’s Office on the third Thursday evening of the month at 4:00 PM unless otherwise indicated.  There are no meetings in July and August.