• Weather Alerts
    Minutes & Agendas
    Reverse 911 Sign Up
    Budgets & Tax Records
    100th Anniversary

Environmental & Energy Commission
Meeting Dates:

The Environmental Commission meets on the 1st Tuesday of every month at 7:00 PM in the upstairs meeting room of the Borough Hall.  Meetings are open to the public.

About the Commission:

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council.  One member is also a member of the Planning Board and all members must by residents of the Borough.  In addition to the regular members there are two alternate members, also appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council.


Members Term
Tammi Kaminski - PB Rep 12/31/24
Susan Klecha 12/31/25
Todd Ghiosay 12/31/23
Lynn Torpie - Chair 12/31/24
Zachary Calle 12/31/23
Lee King 12/31/25
Peter Torpie 12/31/24
Members (Alternates)  
Alt. 1 - Lorraine Iaocono-Golden, 2 yrs. 12/31/23
Alt. 2 - Vacant, 1 Yr. 12/31/23

Councilwoman Lisa Sandhusen, Liaison

Powers of the Commission:

The Commission has the power to conduct research into the use and possible use of the open land areas of the Borough and shall coordinate the activities of unofficial bodies organized for similar purposes.  The Commission keeps an index of all open area, publicly or privately owned, including open marshlands, swamps and other wetlands.

In addition, the Commission has the power to study and make recommendations concerning open space preservation, water resoures management, air pollution control, solid waste management, noise control, soil and landscape protection, environmental appearance, marine resources, energy conservation and protection of flora and fauna.

Useful Links:


 New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)


 United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Download this file (054_battery recycling.pdf)